Donegal Attractions & Activities
Letterkenny provides a brilliant backdrop for the activities and attractions the county has to offer. Golfers need not go far to find a green, walkers will be spoilt for choice and history lovers can get stuck in to the selection of museums and historic monuments. The Letterkenny town park is less than 2 miles from Pennsylvania House.
All within short driving distances we have some of Irelands most beautiful beaches. Including Portsalon, Culaduff, Rathmullen, Rossnowlagh, Fintra, Knockalla and Marblehill.
Award Winning Golf Courses
Donegal is home to a number of the Countrys top championship golf courses. All of which are within close proximity to Pennsylvania Bed & Breakfast. Click on the links below to find out more.
Ard’s Forest Park
Ards Forest Park is probably one of the most beautiful and varied of Ireland’s forest parks. It is 480 hectares in extent and contains a large diversity of plant and wildlife forms. Sandy beaches, rivers, viewing points, nature walks, picnic and play areas. Hours can be spent here in complete relaxation. Be it on the many nature walks or on its golden beaches. It is a place for everyone to get away for a while.
Doe Castle situated in Sheephaven Bay. A spectacular location on the waterline near Creeslough, Co. Donegal.
Doagh Famine Village
Inishowen Route 100
The “Inishowen 100″ is one of Ireland’s most scenic drives. Its a 100-mile (160km) circular route around the Inishowen Peninsula in North East Donegal. Bounded on three sides by water, the peninsula is almost triangular in shape, between Lough Foyle and Lough Swilly and bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the north
Fort Dunree Military Museum
Fort Dunree in Irish means, “Fort of the Heather” and indicates that this site has been an important defensive site down through history. Today however, its stunning natural beauty and abundant wildlife are drawing increasing numbers of visitors to one of Inishowen’s most beautiful and peaceful locations. It is a must see for every visitor to the Inishowen and peninsula and its surrounding areas.
Glenveagh National Park
Glenveagh National Park is a remote and hauntingly beautiful wilderness of rugged mountains, pristine lakes, tumbling waterfalls and enchanted native oak woodland in the heart of the Derryveagh Mountains in the north west of County Donegal.
At the centre of the Park on the edge of Lough Veagh is Glenveagh Castle, a late 19th century castellated mansion, built as a hunting lodge.
Originally known as St Columb’s, the 1828 Regency-style house is decorated with William Morris textiles, and collections of Islamic and Japanese art. The full collection includes three hundred works by leading twentieth-century artists such as Picasso and Kokoshka. Irish and Italian artists are especially well-represented.In 1981, Derek Hill donated St Columb’s, its contents and the gardens to the Nation. Hill’s studio and guesthouse were transformed into the Glebe Gallery displaying items from the Derek Hill Collection as well as providing a location for travelling exhibitions.
Famine Folk Village
The Folk Village Museum is a cluster of several small cottages, called a ‘clachan’, perched on a hillside overlooking the sandy curve of Glen Bay Beach in the Gaeltacht (Irish-speaking area) of South West Donegal. Designed, built and maintained by the local people, the Folk Village is one of Ireland’s best living-history museums.
Malin Head – Irelands most Northernly Point
Malin Head is renowned for its rugged coastal landscape and attractive beaches. The area is steeped in history and folklore. Malin Head is an area for all tastes, including walking, fishing, swimming, photography, studying rock formations or rare flora. Discover some of the largest sand dunes in Europe once you enter the Malin Head area via the coastal road.
Sliabh Leauge – Europes highest sea cliffs
Don’t miss your opportunity to visit one of Ireland’s best kept secrets and a signature point on the Wild Atlantic Way. Located in south west Donegal. A visit to the cliffs and the surrounding region is a must. Experience the local culture, heritage and people of Donegal against the backdrop of our spectacular and rugged coastline.
The Dunfanaghy Workhouse
The Dunfanaghy Workhouse was a traditional Workhouse offering respite for the poor from 1845 to 1922. It was opened on the 15th July 1995 by Mary Robinson as a heritage centre. It has proved extremely popular with tourists over recent years.
Fanad Head Lighthouse is situated on the northern coast of the Fanad Peninsula in North Donegal, it is a signature discovery point on the Wild Atlantic Way. The light is 39 metres above sea level and there are 79 steps in the tower. There tours offer a fantastic insight into the rich and vibrant history of Fanad Lighthouse and the beautiful Fanad Peninsula.
The Tory Island Ferry
Turasmara will take you from the picturesque harbours of Bunbeg to Tory Island on board Tormar, a costal cruiser built in 1992. Travel in safety & comfort to experience the beautiful North West Donegal Coastline.
Ringfort Circle in Burt
The Grianan of Aileach is a hillfort atop the 244 metres (801 ft) high Greenan Mountain at Inishowen in County Donegal, Ireland. The main structure is a stone ringfort, thought to have been built by the Northern Uí Néill, in the sixth or seventh century CE; although there is evidence that the site had been in use before the fort was built. It has been identified as the seat of the Kingdom of Ailech and one of the royal sites of Gaelic Ireland. The wall is about 4.5 metres (15 ft) thick and 5 metres (16 ft) high. Inside it has three terraces, which are linked by steps, and two long passages within it. Originally, there would have been buildings inside the ringfort. Just outside it are the remains of a well and a tumulus.
Newmills Corn and Flax Mills
New mills corn & flax mills are situated on the R250, Churchill road, beside Newmills Bridge on the south bank of the River Swilly, 5 kilometres west of Letterkenny in the small town of Milltown in County Donegal, Ireland. It features one of the largest, still working, waterwheels in the country. The millrace is 1 km long and powers two separate Millheels, one for grinding oats and barley and the other for flax.
Donegal Town is a busy shopping and tourist town in south Donegal where the River Eske flows into Donegal Bay. It was invaded by the Vikings in the 8th century and they used it as a port. The Vikings built a garrison in the town, thought to have been in the grounds where O’Donnells Castle/Donegal Castle now stands.
Built by the O’Donnell chieftains in the 15th Century, beside the river Eske in Donegal Town, Donegal Castle was rebuilt in Jacobean style in the 16th Century by Sir Basil Brooke, after Hugh O’Donnell burnt it to the ground rather than let it fall into enemy hands. The castle is now open to the public and often hosts events such as Gaelic cultural evenings.
Mc Gee Tweeds
In Donegal, hand-weaving is a skill that has been passed down for centuries through many generations. In the old days, many families lived by hand-spinning and hand-weaving cloth in their homes.
Molloy Sweaters Ltd is a family run business located in a region noted for its tradition in knitting, weaving, sheep farming, and fishing.
Donegal Bay Waterbus
Enjoy the sights of beautiful Donegal Bay, The Islands and the Seal Colony. Comfortable lounge seating modern vessel with a fully stocked bar & live music. The perfect way to experience Donegal bay.
Arranmore Car & Passenger Ferries.
Visit Donegals Jewel of the Atlantic. Savor the beautiful and untamed landscape, gaelic culture, quiet country roads with abundant wildlife, turf fires, and lively pubs.
Killybegs is a town in County Donegal in Ulster, Ireland. It is the second largest fishing port in the county and on the island of Ireland. It is located on the south coast of the county, north of Donegal Bay, near Donegal Town. The town is situated at the head of a scenic harbour and at the base of a vast mountainous tract extending northward. In the summer, there is a street festival celebrating the fish catches and incorporating the traditional “Blessing of the Boats”. It has a population of 1,297.
Is a coastal district in the southwest Gaeltacht of County Donegal in Ulster, Ireland. It is also a civil parish in the historic barony of Banagh. The district was once famous as being the parish of The V. Rev. James Canon McDyer (1910–1987), who championed the rights of rural people and helped establish community-based industries in the area.
Oakfield Park Raphoe
A wonderful landscape of parkland, woodlands, lakes and formal gardens set around a restored 18th century deanery. The grounds include walled gardens, ponds, lakes, a lakeside Nymphaeum, heritage trees, sculptures, extensive walks and trails, and a 4.5km narrow gauge railway with a Diesel & Steam Train operating passenger trips each day.
Beltany Stone Circle Raphoe
Beltany is a neolithic stone circle just south of Raphoe town in County Donegal, Ireland. It dates from around 1400-800 BC and comprises 64 stones around a low earth platform or tumulus, situated at the summit of Tops Hill. One stone is decorated with cup marks and many of the stones stand at an angle after being disturbed around a hundred years ago. There may originally have been about 80 stones.
Donegal County Museum is based in a fine old stone building, which was once part of Letterkenny Workhouse, which opened in 1845. The Museum houses a substantial collection of artefacts relating to the history and heritage of County Donegal. The first floor exhibition tells the story of Donegal from Prehistory to the Twentieth Century. Temporary exhibitions covering a wide range of topics are held in the ground floor gallery throughout the year, with something to suit all ages and interests. An event and education programme runs throughout the year on a wide variety of themes and topics. The role of Donegal County Museum is to collect, record, preserve, communicate and display for the use and enjoyment of the widest community possible, the material evidence and associated information of the history of County Donegal.
Rathmullen – Flight Of The Earls
In September 1607 a French ship sailed from the northern harbour of Rathmullan in Lough Swilly. On board were Hugh O’Neill, Earl of Tyrone, and Rory O’Donnell, Earl of Tyrconnell, together with more than ninety of their family and followers. The ship was bound for Spain, but fierce storms forced them to disembark in France in early October. Thereafter they made their way to Rome, where they remained in voluntary exile, and where O’Neill died in 1616.
One of Irelands Heritage Towns, is a charming little town of the 17th century, situated in the Heart of Donegal at the mouth of the River Lennon to the Lough Swilly. The name Ramelton derives from the Irish name, Rath Mealtain, Which means The Fort Of Mealtain. Archaeological evidences have shown that in the Ramelton area were settlements since the early stone age. From the 12th century this area had been the homeland of the O’Donnells, the ruling clan of Donegal.
Lifford Old Courthouse
Donegal’s must-see jail attraction. Fun, informative and unlike anything you’ve seen before, This is a guided tour with a difference.
Walking Routes in Donegal
Click here for a complete list of walking routes in Donegal.
Errigal is a 751-metre mountain in County Donegal. It is the tallest peak in County Donegal. Errigal is also the most southern, steepest and highest of the mountain chain, called the “Seven Sisters” by locals. The Seven Sisters includes Muckish, Crocknalaragagh, Aghla Beg, Ardloughnabrackbaddy, Aghla More, Mackoght and Errigal.
The mountain is most often climbed from the carpark off the R251 road. The route initially starts off by crossing heavily eroded and boggy land towards a visible track through the shiny scree from where the ascent proper starts. After reaching the summit, people usually walk the short but exposed walk along ‘One Man’s Pass’ which leads across to the second and lower of the twin summits. No special equipment is needed to climb the mountain, but caution is advised.
Northern Ireland Attractions
Northern Ireland has many tourist attractions which are all under a 2 hour drive from Bed & Breakfast in Letterkenny. We have gathered some information for you below on a small number of places of interest.
A walk around the walls in Derry~Londonderry reveals a splendid city crammed full of history, heritage, interest and a vibrant cultural scene.
This is the only remaining completely walled city in Ireland and one of the finest examples of Walled Cities in Europe. The Walls were built during the period 1613-1618 by the honourable, the Irish Society as defences for early seventeenth century settlers from England and Scotland.
Titanic Belfast is a visitor attraction and a monument to Belfast’s maritime heritage on the site of the former Harland & Wolff shipyard in the city’s Titanic Quarter where the RMS Titanic was built. It tells the stories of the ill-fated Titanic, which hit an iceberg and sank during her maiden voyage in 1912, and her sister ships RMS Olympic and HMHS Britannic. The building contains more than 12,000 square metres (130,000 sq ft) of floor space, most of which is occupied by a series of galleries, plus private function rooms and community facilities.
The Giants Causeway
For centuries countless visitors have marvelled at the majesty and mystery of the Giants Causeway. At the heart of one of Europe’s most magnificent coastlines its unique rock formations have, for millions of years, stood as a natural rampart against the unbridled ferocity of Atlantic storms. The rugged symmetry of the columns never fails to intrigue and inspire our visitors. To stroll on the Giants Causeway is to voyage back in time.
In the small village of Bushmills, settled on the banks of the river you’ll find the oldest working distillery in Ireland. A place where family and friends have worked for generations, in a small Northern Irish village that for over 400 years has kept to the philosophy that hand crafting small batches is the way to produce beautifully smooth tasting Irish whiskey.
Carrick-A-Reed Rope Bridge
Suspended almost 100 ft (30 m) above sea level, the rope bridge was first erected by salmon fisherman 350 years ago.
In 2016 Carrick-a-Rede welcomed the highest number of visitors ever to this exhilarating rope bridge experience.
Dunluce Castle is a now-ruined medieval castle in Northern Ireland. It is located on the edge of a basalt outcropping in County Antrim, and is accessible via a bridge connecting it to the mainland. The castle is surrounded by extremely steep drops on either side, which may have been an important factor to the early Christians and Vikings who were drawn to this place where an early Irish fort once stood.
Eating out in Letterkenny.
Letterkenny is home to many beautiful and top quality restaurants. With a variety of cuisines to choose from. Find out more by visiting: http://www.justeat.ie .