Inishowen is a peninsula in County Donegal, Ireland. It is also the largest peninsula in all of the island of Ireland. Inishowen is a picturesque location with a rich history. The peninsula includes Irelands’ most northerly point, Malin Head, along with Lagg sand dunes, some of the highest in Europe, as well as Grianán an Aileach, a royal fort constructed by the Clan Uí Néill in the sixth century. The Grianán stands at the entrance to the peninsula.

The Inishowen Genealogy Centre offers a genealogical service with data about familes from across the north west of Ireland. The premises is a former residence dating from the 17th century which safeguards important records from across the Inishowen region. The staff at the centre deals with all types of researchers tracing ancestry and their computers contain information about local families.

This mysterious ancient ring fort is unquestionably the most interesting antiquity in Inishowen. Built of dry stones, the circular fort commands one of the most breathtaking views to be found anywhere in Ireland, Looking down on a vast panorama of fields, mountains, valleys, rivers and ocean, that covers five counties – its a must see for any visitor. This ring fort belongs to the most impressive ancient monuments Donegals..

It is believed to have been built as a pagan temple around the 5th century BC. The fort became the royal residence of the O’Neill’s. It was damaged in the 12th century and was restored in 1870. The fort stands at the entrance to the Inishowen Peninsula, overlooking Lough Swilly and Lough Foyle. If the weather is clear, you have a memorable and fantastic panorama view.

Located on the beautiful Isle of Doagh on Inishowen the Doagh Visitor Centre opened in 1997 on a small scale. Many new displays have since been added.

The outdoor museum tells the story of life in this area in the 1970’s going back to the Famine in the 1840’s. A Famine Village and typical dwellings, from those lived in earlier times such as Sod or Turf Houses.

The Irish Famine was at worst during the years 1845 to 1848, over this period the population dropped from 8 million to 4 million through death and emigration.

The staff at the centre offer guided tours, who in less than 15 minutes will give you an understanding of past Irish history.

Views from the car park area and the cliffs give good opportunities for observing sea life at the mouth of Lough Swilly. Bottle Nose Dolphins are sometimes seen in large numbers and the Otter, normally associated more with rivers than the sea, can also be seen hunting fish and crabs below the cliffs.

Near to the spot where Wolfe Tone was brought ashore in 1798 a small fort was erected to guard against the possible return of a French invasion fleet. In the late 19th century the fort was enlarged and modernised. It was transferred to Ireland in 1938, just before the beginning of the Second World War. During the war Irish Forces were based there to prevent the navies of warring nations from violating the country’s neutrality